AARP Blacksburg Chapter #2613
Serving the New River Valley Since 1976

2019 Officers

 

PresidentJerry Niles niles@vt.edu,

540-320-8635

Vice President: Don Creamer, dgc2@vt.edu, 540-230-8010

Secretary: Pat Hyer 
hyerp@vt.edu 540-951-4968

Treasurer: Pat Ballard 
pballard@vt.edu 540-449-1804

Asst Treasurer: Ruth Anne Niles rniles1@comcast.net

Chapter Governance

AARP Blacksburg Chapter is governed by a Board of Directors that includes elected officers, Board members, committee chairs, and liaisons to other organizations. AARP provides a Chapter Handbook and the local chapter follows a set of Bylaws and a Governance Plan that includes position descriptions.

 

 

 

Chapter Handbook

Chapter Bylaws

Governance Plan

 

Board of Directors


2019 Board Members

Class of 2019: Jim Montgomery jrmonte@verizon.net 540 552-1663, Wanda Smith wjsmith@vt.edu, Peter Magolda magoldpm@me.com 513-593-1341, Tamara Hodsden bearshed@pemtel.net 540-239-5005

Class of 2020: Isabel Berney, Iberney7@gmail.com, 540-505-1441Hugh VanLandingham hughv@vt.edu540-552-4328

Class of 2021: Lisa Moose, lisa.m.moose@outlook.com‭540-525-0042‬. Leslie Pendleton, lkpendleton@gmail.com, ‭540-230-8139‬. Judith Jones, judith@vt.edu, ‭540-320-0126‬. Doug Feuerbach, dougjf01@gmail.com, ‭540-392-9547‬
 

 

2019 Committee Chairs 

 

Awards: Vacant

Caring: Vacant

Chaplin: Sandy Birch birch@vt.edu 540-230-8823

Community Service: Sally Anna Stapleton sanna418@gmail.com 540-250-3908

Financial Planning and Audit: June Schmidt schmidtj@vt.edu 540-552-1590

Health and Wellness: TBD

History: Sally Anna Stapleton sanna418@gmail.com 540-250-3908, Don Creamer, dgc2@vt.edu 540-230-8010

Hospitality: Terry Wildman, wiley@vt.edu, ‭540-320-5599‬. Thais Beams thaisbeams@yahoo.com 540-552-0177

Legislative: Val Coluni vcoluni@aol.com 540-961-5014), Alison Galway agalway@vt.edu 540-552-3514

Lifelong Learning Institute Partnership: Pat Hyer/Don Creamer hyerp@vt.edu 540-951-4968 dgc2@vt.edu 540-230-8010

Membership: Peter Magolda, magoldpm@me.com, ‭(513) 593-1341‬. Jim Wightman wightman@vt.edu 540 230-1268

Newsletter: Carolyn Rude carolyn.rude@comcast.net 540-552-0373

Program: Judith Jones, judith@vt.edu, ‭540-320-0126‬. Lisa Moose lisa.m.moose@outlook.com540-525-0042

Website: Don Creamer dgc2@vt.edu 540-230-8010, Lisa Moose lisa.m.moose@outlook.com540-525-0042, Peter Magolda magoldpm@me.com 513-593-1341


2019 Liaisons

AARP Virginia Liaison: Ben Crawford ben.crawford@vt.edu 540-961-5733
AARP Tax Preparation: Pat Ballard pballard@vt.edu 540-449-1804
Blacksburg Community Center: Joy Herbert jherbert@blacksburg.gov 540-1134
Community Foundation of the NRV: Pat Hyer hyerp@vt.edu 540-951-4968
NRV TimeBank: Not assigned
VTRA Liaison: June Schmidt schmidtj@vt.edu 540-552-1590

Cart