AARP Blacksburg Chapter #2613
Serving the New River Valley Since 1976

2017 Officers

 

President: Terry Wildman 
wiley@vt.edu 540-320-5599

Vice President: Wendy Baldwin wendybburg@gmail.com 646-352-3936
Secretary: Pat Hyer 
hyerp@vt.edu 540-951-4968

Treasurer: Pat Ballard 
pballard@vt.edu 540-449-1804

Chapter Governance

AARP Blacksburg Chapter is governed by a Board of Directors that includes elected officers, Board members, committee chairs, and liaisons to other organizations. AARP provides a Chapter Handbook and the local chapter follows a set of Bylaws and a Governance Plan that includes position descriptions.

 

 

 

Chapter Handbook

Chapter Bylaws

Governance Plan

 

Board of Directors


2017 Board Members

Class of 2017: Pat Hyer hyerp@vt.edu 540-951-4968, Jerry Niles niles@vt.edu, 540-320-8635, Shirley Peterson sssappp@icloud.com 540-980-0645
Class of 2018: Wendy Baldwin wendybburg@gmail.com 646-352-3936, Lisa Moose lisa.m.moose@outlook.com (540) 525-0042, Ryan Martin ryan.martin@vtymca.org 540-961-9622
Class of 2019: Jim Montgomery jrmonte@verizon.net 540 552-1663, Wanda Smith wjsmith@vt.edu, Peter Mcgolda magoldpm@me.com 513-593-1341, Tamara Hodsden bearshed@pemtel.net 540-239-5005

 

2017 Committee Chairs 

 

Awards: Tamara Hodsden bearshed@pemtel.net 540-239-5005
Caring: Position Vacant
Chaplin: Sandy Birch birch@vt.edu 540-230-8823
Community Service: Sally Anna Stapleton sanna418@gmail.com 540-250-3908
Financial Planning and Audit: June Schmidt schmidtj@vt.edu 540-552-1590
Health and Wellness: Jennie Reilly jenmik@vt.edu, 382-0645 (H) or 230-5565 (C), Angela Little anglittle332@gmail.com 808-8007, Wendy Baldwin wendybburg@gmail.com 646-352-3936
History: Sally Anna Stapleton sanna418@gmail.com 540-250-3908, Don Creamer, dgc2@vt.edu 540-230-8010
Hospitality: Thais Beams thaisbeams@yahoo.com 540-552-0177
Legislative: Val Coluni vcoluni@aol.com 540-961-5014), Alison Galway agalway@vt.edu 540-552-3514
Lifelong Learning Institute Partnership: Pat Hyer/Don Creamer hyerp@vt.edu 540-951-4968 dgc2@vt.edu 540-230-8010
Membership: Ryan Martin ryan.martin@vtymca.org 540 961-9622, Tom Alston tpalston@gmail.com 757-651-3065. Jim Wightman wightman@vt.edu 540 230-1268
Newsletter: Carolyn Rude carolyn.rude@comcast.net 540-552-0373
Program: Don Creamer dgc2@vt.edu 540-230-8010, Lisa Moose lisa.m.moose@outlook.com (540) 525-0042
Website: Don Creamer dgc2@vt.edu 540-230-8010, Peter Magolda magoldpm@me.com 513-593-1341

2017 Liaisons

AARP Virginia Liaison: Ben Crawford ben.crawford@vt.edu 540-961-5733
AARP Tax Preparation: Pat Ballard pballard@vt.edu 540-449-1804
Blacksburg Community Center: Joy Herbert jherbert@blacksburg.gov 540-1134
Community Foundation of the NRV: Pat Hyer hyerp@vt.edu 540-951-4968
NRV TimeBank: Lisa Moose lisa.m.moose@outlook.com (540) 525-0042
VTRA Liaison: June Schmidt schmidtj@vt.edu 540-552-1590